Thornton Burgess Nature Stories Collection

by Thornton Burgess Author

(From Amazon): Enjoy this collection of 30 books by Thornton Burgess, the bedtime story man, with illustrations by his friend Harrison Cady. Burgess's passion for nature led to Peter Rabbit and other memorable characters in animal stories that children (and kids at heart) have loved for over 100 years. Here you'll find his Animal Bedtime storybooks, Green Meadow stories, Green Forest stories, Mother West Wind stories, and Animal and Bird books -- with a linkable table of contents for easy access to all 30 books. Perfect for kids ages 8-11 (grades 3-6) to read on their own; younger children will love these as read-alouds.

Additional Details

Resource Type
Print Status
In Print


  • 1 The Adventures of Reddy Fox
  • 2 The Adventures of Johnny Chuck
  • 3 The Adventures of Unc' Billy Possum
  • 4 The Adventures of Mr. Mocker
  • 5 The Adventures of Jerry Muskrat
  • 6 The Adventures of Danny Meadow Mouse
  • 7 The Adventures of Grandfather Frog
  • 8 The Adventures of Chatterer the Red Squirrel
  • 9 The Adventures of Sammy Jay
  • 10 The Adventures of Buster Bear
  • 11 The Adventures of Old Mr. Toad
  • 12 The Adventures of Prickly Porky
  • 13 The Adventures of Paddy Beaver
  • 14 The Adventures of Poor Mrs. Quack
  • 15 The Adventures of Jimmy Skunk
  • 16 Old Mother West Wind
  • 17 Mother West Wind's Children
  • 18 Mother West Wind's Animal Friends
  • 19 Mother West Wind "Why" Stories
  • 20 Mother West Wind "How" Stories
  • 21 Mother West Wind "Where" Stories
  • 22 Happy Jack
  • 23 Mrs. Peter Rabbit
  • 24 Bowser the Hound
  • 25 Old Granny Fox
  • 26 Lightfoot the Deer
  • 27 Blacky the Crow
  • 28 Whitefoot the Wood Mouse
  • 29 The Burgess Animal Book for Children
  • 30 The Burgess Bird Book for Children

User Reviews

Add a Review

You'll need to log in to your account before leaving a review. Don't have an account? You can sign up for free!

Report a problem with this resource