The Book of Genesis

by J. Paterson Smyth Author

The first volume in The Bible for School and Home series, covering the Creation, the Fall, the Flood, the call of Abraham, and the story of Joseph, with Smyth showing at every turn how the individual stories fit into God's overall plan. All eight volumes in The Bible for School and Home series, used in Charlotte Mason’s schools, are intended for parents and teachers to use in preparing Bible lessons for the children in their charge. Each of the volumes contains two dozen or more lessons, preceded by the same lengthy introduction to sound teaching practices, a section which is well worth reading. For each lesson, Smyth specifies the Biblical passages to cover, then provides background information you can incorporate in your telling of the story to gain the interest of your children, carefully framed questions you can use to draw their attention to the main points, and ways you might direct the conversation to stir their affections and their actions.


Additional Details

Print Status
In Print
Yesterday's Classics


  • 1 The Creation Story
  • 2 The Story of the Fall
  • 3 Cain and Abel
  • 4 The Flood
  • 5 After the Flood
  • 6 The Call of Abraham
  • 7 Lot's Choice
  • 8 Encouragement for Abram
  • 9 The Covenant and It's Sign
  • 10 "Shall Not the Judge of All the Earth Do Right?"
  • 11 Ishmael Cast Out and Found
  • 12 The Sacrifice of Isaac
  • 13 The Wooing of Rebekah
  • 14 Jacob and Esau
  • 15 The Vision at Bethel
  • 16 A Critical Day
  • 17 Joseph––God's Leading
  • 18 Joseph in Prison
  • 19 From the Prison to the Steps of the Throne
  • 20 Joseph and His Brothers––part 1
  • 21 Joseph and His Brothers––part 2
  • 22 Joseph and His Father
  • 23 At Jacob's Death-Bed
  • 24 The Death of Joseph

User Reviews

Add a Review

You'll need to log in to your account before leaving a review. Don't have an account? You can sign up for free!

Report a problem with this resource