The Story of the World: History for the Classical Child: The Middle Ages: From the Fall of Rome to the Rise of the Renaissance (Second Revised Edition) (Vol. 2) (Story of the World)

by Susan Wise Bauer Author

(From Amazon): This second book in the four-volume narrative history series for elementary students will transform your study of history. The Story of the World has won awards from numerous homeschooling magazines and readers' polls—over 150,000 copies of the series in print!Now more than ever, other cultures are affecting our everyday lives—and our children need to learn about the other countries of the world and their history. Susan Wise Bauer has provided a captivating guide to the history of other lands. Written in an engaging, straightforward manner, this revised edition of The Story of the World: History for the Classical Child, Volume 2: The Middle Ages weaves world history into a story book format. Who discovered chocolate? What happened to the giant Fovor of the Mighty Blows? Why did the Ottoman Turks drag their war ships across dry land? The Story of the World covers the sweep of human history from ancient times until the present. Africa, China, Europe, the Americas—find out what happened all around the world in long-ago times. Designed as a read-aloud project for parents and children to share together, The Story of the World includes each continent and major people group. Volume 2: The Middle Ages, is the second of a four-volume series and covers the major historical events in the years 400 to 1600 CE, as well as including maps, illustrations, and tales from each culture. Each Story of the World volume provides a full year of history study when combined with the Activity Book, Audiobook, and Tests—each available separately to accompany each volume of The Story of the World Text Book. Volume 2 Grade Recommendation: Grades 1-6. Illustrated throughout with black-and-white drawings and maps


Additional Details

Resource Type
Print Status
In Print
Peace Hill Press
Second Revised Edition


  • 1 The Glory That Was Rome
  • 2 The Early Days of Britain
  • 3 Christianity Comes to Britain
  • 4 The Byzantine Empire
  • 5 The Medieval Indian Empire
  • 6 The Rise of Islam
  • 7 Islam Becomes and Empire
  • 8 The Great Dynasties of China
  • 9 East of China
  • 10 The Bottom of the World
  • 11 The Kingdom of the Franks
  • 12 The Islamic Invasion
  • 13 The Great Kings of France
  • 14 The Arrival of the Norsemen
  • 15 The First Kings of England
  • 16 England After the Conquest
  • 17 Knights and Samurai
  • 18 The Age of Crusades
  • 19 A New Kind of King
  • 20 The Diaspora
  • 21 The Mongols Devastate the East
  • 22 Exploring the Mysterious East
  • 23 The First Russian
  • 24 The Ottoman Empire
  • 25 The End of the World
  • 26 France and England at War
  • 27 War for the English Throne
  • 28 The Kindoms of Spain and Portugal
  • 29 African Kingdoms
  • 30 India Under the Moghuls
  • 31 Exploring New Worlds
  • 32 The American Kingdoms
  • 33 Spain, Portugal, and the New World
  • 34 Martin Luther's New Ideas
  • 35 The Renaissance
  • 36 Reformation and Counter Reformation
  • 37 The New Universe
  • 38 England's Greatest Queen
  • 39 England's Greatest Playwright
  • 40 New Ventures to the Americas
  • 41 Explorations in the North
  • 42 Empires Collide

User Reviews

Add a Review

You'll need to log in to your account before leaving a review. Don't have an account? You can sign up for free!

Report a problem with this resource